The YOPP Arctic and Antarctic supersites

Land based supersites

The Arctic supersites include the International Arctic Systems for Observing the Atmosphere (IASOA) observatories at Utqiagvik (formerly known as Barrow), Oliktok Point, Eureka, Alert, Summit, Ny-Ålesund-Zeppelin, Pallas-Sodankylä, Tiksi, Cherskii, the AARI of Roshydroment Ice Base Cape Baranova, as well as the Environment and Climate Change Canada (ECCC) Iqaluit and Whitehorse supersites.

The Antarctic supersites include Alexander Tall Tower, Casey, Davis, Dome-C, Dumont D'Urville, Halley IV, Jang Bogo, King George Island, Georg Von Neumayer, Mawson, Syowa, Amundsen-Scott South Pole, Byrd, Rothera, Vostok, McMurdo, Troll.

These sites were selected to span the diversity in climatology and topography found in the polar areas and thus represent a variety of challenges for NWP systems.

Ocean based supersites

Ocean based supersites were established in order to enable the analysis of ocean-sea ice-atmosphere coupling processes. 

Ocean sites at fixed locations are located at the Sheba location (165°W, 76°N) in the Chukchi Plateau; along the Arctic Mid-Ocean (Gakkel) Ridge (10°E, 85°N); in the Canada Basin (135°W, 81°N); and at the North Pole (0°E, 90°N).

Ship based observatories are The Swedish research icebreaker Oden (summer 2018) and the MOSAiC Polarstern drifting observatory (winter 2019-2020). 

More Information

Details on the YOPP supersites locations mentioned here, and a few at the Third Pole, are provided in Table 1 of the YOPP supersites common model output documentation.

The YOPPsiteMIP supersites are many, and participating model centres may choose to provide output for all or a limited set, depending on resources and interest.