Polar Prediction Project Societal and Economic Research Application (PPP-SERA)

Purpose

The PPP Societal and Economic Research and Applications (SERA) task team contributes social sciences expertise and operational know-how to the Polar Prediction Project. The PPP-SERA task team’s research focuses to the needs for, and the use of, environmental information, which includes the study of decision-making processes by a diverse range of actors in the Polar Regions. Furthermore, PPP-SERA team members and contributors intend to examine pathways, methods and challenges in relation to how  polar weather, water, ice and climate (WWIC) information is communicated between providers and users. Hereby, the PPP-SERA task team complements the observation and modelling efforts of YOPP and aims at improving our understanding of user and provider needs, perspectives, values and behaviour.

Goals

The PPP-SERA task team aims to undertake a thorough assessment of the state of knowledge in relation to the use of weather, water, ice and climate (WWIC) information in the Polar Regions, outlining important gaps in our knowledge and calling for action to address these gaps.

The PPP-SERA task team intends to run a series of Weather and Society workshops with the goal of stimulating dialogue between environmental forecasters, researchers and end-users, understanding the role and relevance of WWIC services in decision-making of diverse end-user groups operating in the Polar Regions, and engaging users and providers regarding on how best to tailor and co-produce WWIC services. 

Members and Contact

Member

Organization and Address

Jorge Carrasco

Associate Researcher

Universidad de Magallanes

Bulnes 01855, Punta Arenas, Chile

+56 99 534 5150

Jorge.carrasco@umag.cl

Julia Chasco (WMO SERA representative)

Head of Meteorology and Society Department

Servicio Meteorológico Nacional de Argentina

Av. Dorrego 4019, Ciudad Autónoma de Buenos Aires, Argentina

+54(011)5167-6767 (int) 18819

jchasco@smn.gov.ar

Jackie Dawson

Canada Research Chair in Environment, Society and Policy &

Assistant Professor

Department of Geography, University of Ottawa

60 University Avenue

Ottawa, Ontario, Canada K1N 6N5

+1 613 562-5800 ext. 1051

jackie.dawson@uottawa.ca

Anders Doksaeter Sivle

Researcher

Norwegian Meteorological Service

Allégaten 70

Postboks 7800

5020 Bergen, Norway

+47 55236611

anders.sivle@met.no

Machiel Lamers (co-chair)

Associate Professor

Wageningen University

Hollandseweg 1

6706KN Wageningen, The Netherlands

+31 (0)317484274

machiel.lamers@wur.nl

Daniela Liggett (co-chair)

Senior Lecturer

University of Canterbury & Gateway Antarctica

Private Bag 4800, Christchurch 8020, New Zealand

+64 3 364 2987 ext. 6367

daniela.liggett@canterbury.ac.nz

Gita Ljubicic

Associate Professor

School of Geography & Earth Sciences

McMaster University

1280 Main Street

West, Hamilton, Ontario, Canada L8S 4K1

+1 (905) 525-9140 ext. 23517

gita.ljubicic@mcmaster.ca

Emma Stewart

Associate Professor

Faculty of Environment, Society & Design

Lincoln University

Lincoln 7647, Canterbury, New Zealand

+64 3 423 0500

Emma.Stewart@Lincoln.ac.nz

Rick Thoman

Climate Specialist

Alaska Center for Climate Assessment and Policy

University of Alaska

Fairbanks, Alaska

+1 (907) 474-2415

rthoman@alaska.edu

Kirstin Werner

(ICO representative

WMO-WWRP-PPP International Coordination Office

Alfred Wegener Institute (AWI)

Bussestrasse 24, 27570 Bremerhaven, Germany

+49 471 4831-2906

kirstin.werner@awi.de

Documentation

PPP-SERA Mailing List

To facilitate communication within the PPP-SEAR community, a mailing list has been set up. News that are relevant to the PPP-SERA community will be spread via ppp-sera-community@lists.swrepo1.awi.de. To subscribe/unsubscribe, please send an e-mail to
office@polarprediction.net.